Key Note Speakers Food Colloids 2020 

Elliot Gilbert - ANSTO, Australia
Professor Elliot Gilbert devised, initiated and leads ANSTO’s research activities in the application of scattering to investigate fundamental and industrial problems of national significance in food materials science. With an international network of collaborators covering academia, industry and national research laboratories, the group has investigated examples from all classes of macronutrients underpinned by materials science methods with the aim to understand, control and predict functionality in food ingredients and whole food systems. In addition to writing the first review detailing the application of neutron scattering to food, he initiated the biennial international ‘Neutrons and Food’ conference serie, chaired the meetings in 2010 and 2018 and sat on the scientific committees for 2012 and 2014. Beyond several book chapters and numerous peer-reviewed publications, the outputs have resulted in multiple reports in the international and domestic media including SBS (Australia) television news. Elliot also led the project for the design, construction and commissioning of the QUOKKA small-angle neutron scattering instrument at the OPAL facility and is currently instrument-responsible. He received his PhD in chemistry from the Australian National University in 1998. Following an Australian Research Council Industrial Postdoctoral Fellowship, he joined the Small-Angle Scattering Group at the Intense Pulsed Neutron Source at Argonne National Laboratory in the United States where he provided scientific and technical assistance to users of the small-angle scattering instruments. Elliot’s interests lie in soft condensed matter science and he has investigated such diverse areas as emulsion stabilisation, polymers in confined geometry and phase separation in paraffins. He has also sought to develop unique and specialised sample environments to extend the use of scattering instrumentation into new scientific areas; such devices include the first differential scanning calorimeter capable of enabling the simultaneous measurement of SANS and a Rapid ViscoAnalyser that enables SANS to be measured during an small-scale emulated food process. He sits on the IUCr Commission on Small-Angle Scattering, chaired the international conference on small-angle scattering in Sydney (2012) and served on the International Advisory Committees for the conferences in 2009, 2015 and 2018. He is on the Editorial Boards of the Journal of Applied Crystallography and Food Structure (Elsevier).
Taco Nicolai - Le Mans University, France
Taco Nicolai received his PhD from the University of Leiden in the Netherlands. He worked as a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Uppsala in Sweden and at the Cavendish laboratories in Cambridge in the UK. He is currently employed by the French national scientific research centre (CNRS) and is working at the University of Le Mans in France. His current research interests are structure and mechanical properties of materials formed by self assembly of biopolymers and associative polymers.    
Anna Millqvist Fureby - RISE, Sweden
Dr Millqvist Fureby has a PhD in Biotechnology from Lund University (1995). She did a post-doc at Institute of Food Research In Reading UK, focusing on enzyme catalyzed syntheses of carbohydrates. She has been a researcher at Institute for Surface Chemistry (now RISE) in Stockholm since 1997, with a focus on dry formulation and controlled release for foods, pharmaceutics, as well as nutraceuticals. She has specialised in structure formation in during drying, amorphous formulations and controlled release strategies based on structured formulations. Her current research is mainly directed towards dry formulation of proteins and probiotics, as well as oral delivery.  
Dr Millqvist Fureby has supervised several PhD students within foods and pharmaceutics, and has authored more than 40 publications.
 Slavka Tcholakova - Head of Department of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Engineering
Prof. Dr. Slavka Tcholakova, Head of Department of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Engineering, has led over 50 projects and participates in more than 25 projects with international companies, incl. Unilever, BASF, Wacker, PepsiCo, Dow Corning, Rhodia, Kraft, Lubrizol and others. Her expertise includes formation and stability of emulsions; rheology of foams and emulsions; protein adsorption in relation to emulsion stability; foam stability and antifoams, drug solubilisation in surfactant micelles. So far, she has published 115 research and review articles, 6 patents, cited over 4000 times in the scientific literature (h index = 35). She bears the National award “Pythagoras” (2018) for high scientific achievements in natural sciences.